The three stages of Raja Yoga


Jagrat, Swapan, Sushupti,

  1. Jagrat (Waking state): correspond with the sthula sharira (gross body). In this state one is aware of daily biosphere. This is also known as bahish prajnya (outer knowing). In this state there remains a sense of self identity (I) and awareness of thoughts. There are not true experiences of reality or truth because of duality like: object and subject or ego and non-ego. The first pada (quarter) is Vaisvanara whose sphere is the state of waking, who knows of the objective. Jivatma enjoys the objects of senses as taste, touch, sound and others.Atma through Isvara enters microcosmic body. Buddhi as vehicle reaches the state of Visva. This is also known as Vigyanatma, Chidabhasa, Visva, and Vyavaharika. This presides over the waking gross body and is mobiles by Karma.
  2. Swapna (Dreaming state) correspond with sukshm sharira (subtle body). This is also known as antah prajnya (inward knowing) or pravivikta (subtle). In this state there is no or little sense of self (I) but thoughts are there. There are not reality and truth.   The second pada (quarter) is the Taijasa whose region is dream, who is aware only of the subjective. Sutratma (Hiranyagarbha) through Isvara enteres the microcosmic subtle body. Manas (mind) as vehicle reach the Taijasa state. This is also known as Taijasa, Pratibhasika and Svapna Kalpita (out of dream).
  3. Sushupti (Deep Sleep) state corresponds with causal body (sukshm sharira). This is also known as Sarvgya (knower of all) or antryami (inner knower).  Not aware of internal or external thoughts or I or objects. Not conscious of anything. But there does remain the existence of consciousness. There is neither imagination nor dreams. In this state of Prajna (Pragya), all dissolve in one bliss. In deep sleep there is no experience of poor or rich, man or woman, happy or sad, no sorrow or happiness, but these may happen in waking or awake.

In the state of deep sleep there is difference between highest self and individual person and soul.  – I.3.42 (105), Brahma Sutras by Veda Vyasa.

Sushupti indeed in his form is free from evils, desires, grief and fear. – Brihadaranyaka Upanishad. IV-3-21

Avyakta Isvara on the vehicle of Maya enters microcosmic Karana body attains the state of Prajna. This is also known as Prajna, Avicchinna, Aparamatrika and Sushupti-Abhimani (the presider over Sushupti).

Yoga teacher training India


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s